Why I decided to get my certification…

Welcome to my very first post on my very first blog!  My goal is to not bore you to death.  On the other hand, the topic of this blog might be, by definition, boring to most. … my personal journey to become a certified genealogist.

I admit that I sometimes do these things on a whim.  As a seasoned (translation: old) genealogist, it seemed like it was logical I would test myself to see if I rose to the standards of certification.  So I first signed up for a year long University of Washington genealogy continuing education class but then found out that the focus of the program was oriented toward researching the context of history in which the family lived.  I thought that was interesting and so I have decided to stay with the program, but it doesn’t get me any closer to certification.  I do think the program will enhance my approach to writing my books (but more about that later.)

There is an organization called the Board for Certified Genealogists (you can access their website from the sidebar link) who certifies genealogists.  There are seven parts that have to be completed (I’ll cover each one ad nauseum, in later posts).  Once you tell them you are going to do this, you have one year to submit your materials.  So, I have decided not to notify them yet but rather work on the materials so I have a “head start”.

I also decided to blog the process because there didn’t seem to be much out there in the way of a sharing community.  I might find things later and if I do I will post them here.  I also have never blogged before (what I do is not that exciting!) but it seemed like a good way to keep a journal of this year.  I may drop this after a short time; we shall see.

That’s it for tonight/today.  Happy hunting!

Jill

3 comments on “Why I decided to get my certification…

  1. Angela says:

    Hi Jill,

    I learned through the Ostfriesen list at Rootsweb that you have started this blog. I have given certification some thought so I am very anxious to follow your blog and learn, from your experience, what I can expect. I’ve always thought I’m not good enough yet to apply, but you have given me a slight bit of hope already!

    • jkmorelli says:

      My skill level is probably above average but certainly not at the level of some people. I recommend just starting by listening to some of the videos about certification. I thought the Proof argument was pretty easy to write but the lineage is harder. If you have questions, don’t hesitate to ask.
      Jill

  2. Tina Marie says:

    I just found this Blog on Pinterest. I too would like to apply for certification and Blog the process. I look forward to catching up by reading your posts. Also you have encouraged me to get started. Thanks, Jill!!!

Leave a Reply

