What if I need an additional source?

Hi, there!

As you know I have been away but not without thinking (if not writing) about my papers that I am working on.  I visited a genealogy friend in California this past week and we had the best time talking about our respective families.  I am afraid we really bored her husband but he was a champ about it.  The good news was that I had a great time and, as a bonus, she had an OSB (a family book, secondary source, that transcribes information from the German parish into family groups) that contained one of my direct line ancestors.  I now have a copy of that.

The “bad” news? While reading on the plane trip home, I identified 3 articles that I wanted to get on German naming practices published in the German Genealogical Digest.  My library didn’t have the digest, but guess whose did!  Yup, hers.  I could have gotten the articles there.  Luckily, she has agreed to take a little trip to her library and copy the articles for me.

As I mentioned in a previous post, another friend was getting the land purchase document for my great grandfather’s farm.  It came in the mail while I was gone.  It is very faint but it is all there.  Yeah!

No great lessons learned here but I guess one can never assume that the library you are passing by does not have the information that would “seal the deal” for you.

Jill

What I have done since the last post:  I have been reading a lot of NGS Quarterly’s.  I am on the third time with Mills’ Evidence article of 1999 and I still am gleaning information from it.  I am rethinking the approach I am taking with the Case Study.  Another great outcome of the reading is that my approach on the narrative portions of the reports is changing to be a bit “meatier”.

Leave a Reply

