So, where am I with BCG certifcation?

I had gotten so engrossed in the development of the client report (perhaps too much so) and the class assignments, I had lost track of where I was in the certification process.  So, this is my check in on my progress.

I have taken a list of the materials that are needed for the portfolio and described where I am with each:

  1. Genealogist’s Code:  While this is “just” a signature on a piece of paper, it is actually a contract for ethical behavior in all that you do as a genealogist. It is a commitment no matter whether you are working for someone else for pay (or barter), or working on your own family for satisfaction.  I consider myself a highly ethical person so I do not find myself in conflict with the Code in my past or present work.
  2. Background Resume:  I have a draft of this roughly laid out but do not like what I have done at all.  I need to work on this.
  3. Document Work (BCG-supplied Document): The BCG supplies you with a document in the area of your interest to transcribe and develop a research plan. BDG does not send this until one actually applies, which I have not yet done.  I have decided I am going to declare my era/area of interest to be the 19th century Midwest.
  4. Document Work (Applicant-supplied Document): I did this work prior to starting this blog.  I consider the transcription to be in final draft form.  The Research Plan is very weak and needs a lot of work.
  5. Research Report prepared for a Client:  I have been working on this for some time as you know.  I have the lineage report in maybe final draft form.  I have the narrative portion just about ready to start the citation process (30% complete).
  6. Case Study: Conflicting or Indirect Evidence: I have this pretty close to final draft form.  I will want to revisit this again before saying it is in final draft form.
  7. Kinship Determination Project:  I have this close to final draft form.  I will want to revisit this again.

Wow!  I am further along than I thought.  Lots more to do, but I think it is possible that I will be requesting the application in February or March of 2012 and then doing the final submission in April or May of 2012.  That would be pretty cool!

Happy Hunting!

Jill

What I have done since the last post:  worked on the list of assignments for my class (see next post); attended the UW women’s basketball game which we won,

One comment on “So, where am I with BCG certifcation?

  1. Mary says:

    I continue to be impressed with your work on this project. You’ve given me ideas for ways to follow my portion. Exciting!

Leave a Reply

