Are you going to the NGS conference and what do you get out of it?

I assume there will be many attending but I was wondering what others get out of the conference?  I have signed up for the conference and for the pre-conference workshop on BCG certification.  I will couple this with a quick trip to Columbus, Ohio, where I lived for 13 years to see some old friends and colleagues.

  • What do you get out of them?
  • Do you have any tips for a first timer?
  • How many have you attended?

If any of you are going, I would like to meet you and put a name and face together.

Since I will be attending the all day workshop of certification, I will delay submitting my application until after the conference.  There were also a couple of concurrent sessions that I wanted to attend related to better writing.  I hope to get a lot out of those.  If all goes well technologically I hope to blog my way through the conference.

I don’t have any relatives that settled in this area but I know that the Cincinnati Library has a good collection of Ostfriesen materials so I may stop in there but it will not be first on my list to do.

Happy Hunting!

Jill

Things I have done since the last post:  I have been mostly working on my assignments for the class.  With the holidays approaching I want to get them all done this weekend so I can concentrate on cooking, holiday cards and other such things.  See the next post for how I am doing on the assignments.

4 comments on “Are you going to the NGS conference and what do you get out of it?

  1. Amy Coffin says:

    I am not going to NGS, but there are plenty of bloggers who are so you won’t be alone. There will likely be a meet-up of sorts, so make sure you go to that.

    Also, take the time to go through the exhibit hall. Get out there and talk to the vendors. You really learn a lot that way.

    Don’t be afraid to change your schedule on a whim. Sometimes fun things and new learning opportunities just sprout up. Go with the flow!

    Lastly, make some business cards with your name, blog url, surnames or whatever you want. It’s a great way to spread the word about your blog.

    Most importantly, have fun!

  2. Jill, I too will be going to NGS as a newbie this year. I can’t wait.

    I have also heard that taking return address labels is a must. This allows you to register for things without getting writer’s cramp.

Leave a Reply

