What have I been doing?

What I haven’t been doing is thinking about certification!

I have been working almost every non-gainful employment hour on the genealogy conference in Illinois:

  • finalizing the program
  • getting the speaker bios/pics together
  • working on the tours
  • organizing a picnic
  • planning the fun things at the banquet
  • writing the script for the four days (if you ever plan a conference make sure you do one of these!)
  • and building a mobile app for our schedule (got the idea at the NGS conference.  See below for how to access)

Whew!  No wonder.  And this does not describe the “minutia”….building two presentations: “1719 & 1757 tax assessments in Ostfriesland” and “Ostfriesen Genealogy: an Overview.” Both of these I am doing with another person.  Also buying pretzels (who knew that Freeport IL was the pretzel capital of the world!….well, maybe not the world.)  Also, I have been copying handouts for the presentations and finally being nervous that we won’t have enough people and we will lose money!

So, no, I haven’t been thinking about certification.  But, I plan on going on the clock right after the conference.  Really!  Stay tuned!

Oh, did I mention that I am also planning to take a small group on a “study abroad” to Salt Lake City in February.  This will be a combination of coaching, genealogy research and fun.
Oh, did I mention that I am leaving for the conference a few days early so I can do some research on my maternal side in the county where two of my ancestors landed in the 1850’s before moving on to Iowa in the 1870’s.  There is a singular lack of vital records that I can tap into but I am hoping that land records will be of interest.

Happy hunting!  You may not hear from me for two weeks; then again, you might.

Jill

What I have done since the last posting:  here is the app:  http://guidebook.com/g/OGSA2012

2 comments on “What have I been doing?

  1. I am sure the conference will be terrific!
    Pretzels? Really!
    Have a great time hunting!

    • jkmorelli says:

      Not to mention that Rockford is the home of the Sock Monkey! We have several of these for door prizes. Who knew that you could get sock monkey key chains.

Leave a Reply

