Woo hoo! Celebration time!

No, I didn’t solve the problem of Friedrich Eilers and my great great grandmother but rather…..

This is my 1 year anniversary for doing my blog and my 101st posting.  Wow!

I am amazed.

Of course with every milestone, I try to look over what I have accomplished (or not) and see if there is room for improvement.

Accomplishments:

  • I am still working towards certification
  • I have been fairly consistent in the frequency of my postings with July and August an understandable exception.
  • I anticipate continuing blogging
  • I have a nice mix of clients but am always looking for more (suggestions welcomed)

Challenges

  • There was a problem in the past with the name of my blog name.  After consultation with BCG’s lawyer I changed the name to a mutually agreed upon name.
  • It seems sometimes I “bite off more than I can chew.”  I actually do not think this will improve, but rather is genetic.
  •  I am not yet “on the clock”

I look forward to the journey for the next year.

Major goals for the next year:

  • get “on the clock”
  • development of a sustaining client base
  • continued education (haven’t heard back from ProGen yet)
  • greater knowledge base of US sources (related to bullet #3)

I think that’s good for now!

Happy Hunting!

Jill

What I have done since the last posting:  finished a major client project!  This was big.  I can now get started on the two that have been waiting patiently for me to get started!  I have also been rereading the BCG Application Standard book; organized my downloads of the NGS Quarterly and the Magazine so I can tell if I have read them or not.  I am also getting ready for the genealogy cruise.  (Note: Like the NGS conference I will suspend my usual approach to this blog and instead post about what I learn etc.  With the cruise line charging for internet time, this postings will probably be when we land.)  I also have two weeks to pull together my information about Freiderick Eilers and Ida Berg to discuss with regional expert on cruise to see if they have ideas about how to find this guy.

5 comments on “Woo hoo! Celebration time!

  1. Sheri Fenley says:

    HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY TO YOU, HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY TO YOU, HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY DEAR JILLLLL, HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY TO YOUUUUU!!!

  2. Congratulations on your blog anniversary! I enjoy them very much as they allow me to “hear” what you’re doing.
    Have a wonderful time on your cruise!

  3. Allen says:

    Congratulations on a significant milestone on your journey.

  4. Julie Tarr says:

    Congrats on taking the plunge! I set a goal to be on-the-clock by the end of the year…only a few months left if I’m going to make that goal!

    • jkmorelli says:

      Well, if you read my blog at the beginning…..I have been “going on the clock’ for at least a year! 🙂 Part of what I have found out in this year, that I should have taken my friend, Dawn’s advice. She developed a strategy of working to improve her skills and her education before she applied. In essence that is what I am doing, I just didn’t think about it strategically but rather “fell into it”. The same result, I guess.

Leave a Reply

