What would be an effective way to conduct an assessment of my reports?

“…6. Review up to five reports or articles against the BCG Genealogical Standards Manual and determine how many meet all acceptable standards and how many meet only some of them.” (1)

Some time ago I took the readiness quiz for BCG certification on their website and found they recommended that I assess my reports against the standards by which BCG determines whether you are eligible to become a “certified genealogist.”  The BCG Genealogical Standards Manual (2) is a guide published by the BCG to assist those interested in knowing the standards of any genealogist and/or the process to become a certified genealogist. On the website however, is a series of rubrics which are used to assess the qualifications of the applications.  I decided to use those rubrics for my standards, assess five of my client reports and then assess these reports as viable candidates for submission. (3)

There is good news and good news….

They are better than I thought and I am getting better and I can still improve!  That is all great news.  I still have not succeeded in accumulating 20 points; I do not read enough peer reviewed articles for the past two years to qualify.  I have, however, figured out whether I went wrong on the count of the total number of possible points (21).  The use of courthouses, archives and major genealogical libraries is only valued at one point, not one for each, i.e. three points)

Here is the assessment with analysis.  Comments are welcomed.

Assessment Rubrics

Happy Hunting!

Jill

What I have done since the last post:  fed the cat, called my daughter as it is her birthday!

(1) Board for Certification of Genealogists®, “Are you ready for certification?”, online <http://www.bcgcertification.org/ruready.html> accessed 23 September 2012.

(2) Board for Certification of Genealogists®, The BCG Genealogical Standards Manual, (Orem, Utah: Ancestry,2000).

(3) Board for Certification of Genealogists®, “Rubrics for Evaluation New Applications for BCG Certification,” online as a PDF file named BCGNewAppRubricsMar2012(3).pdf, revised 15 March 2012, online <http://www.bcgcertification.org/certification/index.html>, downloaded 23 September 2012.

2 comments on “What would be an effective way to conduct an assessment of my reports?

  1. Karen Stanbary says:

    Hey Jill
    My progen group just went through this exercise where we measured each of our peer’s research reports against the BCG standards. It was a very lengthy process. But, after reviewing six (and reading the comments all of my peers did for each of the reports), I believe I now have a better understanding of the standards. Since it is so fresh in my mind, I am happy to look at one of your Research Reports via this lens (of course, don’t send me one you are considering for your portfolio).

    • jkmorelli says:

      Thanks! I will take you up on the offer. I also believe I understand them better than I did before I did the (cursory) assessment but having a third party look it over would be great. Of course, I would not submit the one I send to you for review. I will pick carefully. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

