What are you reading now?

I try to be a voracious reader but sometimes other things get in the way.  Recently Marian Pierre-Louis recommended a book, The Family Tree Problem Solver, in her blog, Roots & Rambles <http://rootsandrambles.blogspot.com/2012/10/book-mentioned-during-webinar.html>.  I promptly checked it out of the Seattle Public Library.  I agree; it’s a good one.

I like this book because….

  • the author is up front that this is not a beginner book and then proceeds to write to the reader in a tone which supports that statement.
  • the book focuses on common intermediate/advanced problems, such as MIA in the censuses, multiple people with the same name in a locale, and solving problems before 1850.
  • the book is entertainingly written.  It is a great combination of case studies, options and development of a research plan for each problem.

I think this would make a good reference book to have on hand. But, this is not a reference book like The Handybook but more like a guide to solutions in general.

I want to thank Karen in Chicago for continuing the dialog on certification.  She shared with me some of her wonderful work product and caused a big shift in how I do citations.  I had been using Evidence! but on her recommendation I moved over to Evidence Explained, both by ESM.  I admit I still like the census citations better in Evidence! but I will live with it.  She also was kind enough to review one of my documents (she is taking the ProGen course) and I failed everything!  Back to work.

Happy Hunting!

Jill

What I have done since the last post:  completed (!) the SGS Bulletin and the newsletter for this quarter.  Now it needs to be printed (could occur next weekend) and mailed (could occur the Friday after Thanksgiving.  Woo hoo!  This has been totally consumptive.  I also had a genealogical emergency….had to put in a few hours for a client to add some information related to a project I had done for her for a birthday that is just a week away.  I presented to the SAR on the changes to medicine and health care before, during and after the Civil War, a topic that has interested me ever since I did the Jens Dahle report.  This week I will speak to the Seattle Newcomers Club (50 are registered, a record!) on starting your own genealogy.  Should be interesting.  Found out that one auction is completed and someone bought my services!  I guess there were a number of bidders (even better.)

1. Rising, Marsha Hoffman. The Family Tree Problem Solver Cincinnati, Ohio: Family Tree Books, 2005.

2. Mills, Elizabeth Shown. Evidence Explained, Citing History Sources from Artifacts to Cyberspace. Baltimore, Maryland: Genealogical Publishing Company, 2007.

3. Mills, Elizabeth Shown. Evidence! Citation & Analysis for the Family Historian. Baltimore, Maryland: Genealogical Publishing Company, 1997.

4. Everton, A. Lee. The Handybook for Genealogists. Logan, Utah: The Everton Publishers, Inc., 1999.

Leave a Reply

