How is the ProGen class going?

Well, we are only 1 month into it and the enthusiasm from the entire class is a bit frenetic!  🙂

ProGen is an 18 month program that is oriented towards training the transitional genealogist towards becoming a professional.  Here is the website if you want more information.

http://progenstudy.org/

It is inexpensive and there is no residency requirement; all is done on line.  The program is 18 months long and each month we read and discuss one or more chapters in the book, Professional Genealogy, edited by Elizabeth Shown Mills.  There is also an assignment due on the 25th of each month which is reviewed and critiqued by the other class members (we have 9 in our cohort).  On the first of the following month we have an online chat about the readings and the next month’s assignment is posted which we turn in….on the 25th, and so it goes.

The first assignment was to write a mission statement and to cite eight sources which were given to us.  It was very interesting to see how many of the citations were similar and how they were different.  I didn’t expect as much variation as was exhibited.  I did ok.

I had two mission statements that I thought I would share here.

The first is more like a marketing tag line but I like it.  Tell me what you think:

Learn | Practice | Teach

The second is more traditional and, I admit, doesn’t say exactly what I want it to say yet.  You comments would be very helpful here as well.

Acquire exemplary genealogical skills so I can serve as a resource to clients, family and friends through teaching, research and writing.

It seems a bit banal to me.

So, that has been a good exercise for me.  You might want to try it.

Happy Hunting!

Jill

What I have done since the last (real) post:  I have finished up a portion of a client’s report and gained two more clients.  Did my assignments for the ProGen class. Actually cleaned up my desk but it doesn’t look like it now.  Finished reading the book, Reading Early American Handwriting by Kip Sperry.  Good book.  I am actually getting passable in my reading of it.  It helps to have been reading tough text (i.e. Platt, Swedish and Danish) from the 1600’s.

Mills, Elizabeth Shown. Professional Genealogy: A Manual for Researchers, Writers, Editors, Lecturers and Librarians. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2008.

Sperry, Kip. Reading Early American Handwriting. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2008.

5 comments on “How is the ProGen class going?

  1. cottew1 says:

    Your tag line is a bit like something we say in medical school: ‘See one, do one, teach one’. A little scarey, huh?

    • jkmorelli says:

      That is! I might work it into a logo rather than a mission statement. for example with the right topography and add the word “genealogy’ it could be pretty cool.

      We’ll see. Thanks for the comment.

  2. Allen says:

    Reading old script is just like deciphering coded text.

  3. I love “Learn | Practice | Teach ” Very nice!

Leave a Reply

