Aw, shucks….I’m an award winner!

One Lovely blog award

Woo hoo! Zola, my friend and fellow ProGen cohort member, recently awarded me the “One Lovely Blog Award”  This is awarded by a fellow blogger of blogs they admire.  Thank you, Zola.

Here are the rules as offered by Zola which came from Charley which came from….who begat…who begat….

1. Thank the person who nominated you.
2. Share 7 things about yourself.
3. Name fifteen bloggers you admire (or as many as you can think of).
4. Contact those bloggers and let them know you’ve tagged them for the One Lovely Blog award.

Here are seven things about myself:

  1. I am an architect and work for the University of Washington School of Medicine as their Director of Facilities
  2. I have lived in Iowa (born, raised and educated), Oklahoma, Colorado, Florida, Ohio and now Washington.
  3. Hubby is an engineer and now plant manager for an asphalt products company.
  4. We have one daughter who lives and works in Boston.
  5. Whenever I am asked to play the icebreaker game of  “tell us something about yourself that no one else knows,” I share that I spent one high school summer at Physics Camp.  Actually Mary, a follower on this blog, may know that.
  6. I started doing genealogy when Alex Haley brought us “Roots”.  It was a national phenomenon.
  7. I continued doing genealogy because I didn’t want to lose the women.  Some genealogists are so focused on their surname—it seems to me an insult to the rest of the family tree, especially the women. Of course, 100% of my family was from regions with patronymic naming patterns and so, other than Bode (mother’s side), I do not have a “surname’ that is older than 150 years old.

Fifteen blogs I admire:

I would like to award “One Lovely Blog Award” to these blogs which I read upon arrival. Shout outs go to  the following blogsl:

Judy Russell’s “The Legal Genealogist”.  http://www.legalgenealogist.com/blog/

Zola Noble’s “Rambling Roots,” (turnabout’s fair play) http://rattlingoldbones.blogspot.com/

Yvette Hoitink’s “Dutch Genealogy”: Yvette and I may be related! It’s more of a website with a weekly newsletter but it counts. http://www.dutchgenealogy.nl/blog/

Genealogy in Time’s online magazine. Here is the link to their article on plagiarism. http://www.genealogyintime.com/news/lets-talk-about-plagiarism.html

Angela McGhie’s “Adventures in Genealogy Education.”  She makes sure I don’t miss any great conferences or other educational opportunities. http://genealogyeducation.blogspot.com/

Thanks, Zola.

Happy Hunting!

Jill

What I have done since the last posting….worked on about 4 other posts.

One comment on “Aw, shucks….I’m an award winner!

  1. Mary Swenson says:

    Congratulations on your award! If you mean this Mary, of course I am familiar with your summer at Physics Camp…such a geek! 🙂

Leave a Reply

