My Escapades with the Elephant!

evernote logoI am now a believer!  I have drunk the Kool-aid.  I am now officially in the 12 step Evernote program!

Here is how I became addicted.  Similar to many, my habit began slowly.

Phase I:

Everyone kept telling me how wonderful Evernote is.  For me, it seemed like Scrivener and Evernote did the same thing; I went with Scrivener.  I downloaded Scrivener for the 30 day trial.  I used it about 5 times.  I haven’t opened it since.

I decided to try Evernote.  I downloaded it and opened it.  Felt it was similar to Scrivener without the writing link.  I set up a couple of note books, didn’t think it did any more than I already had going for me.  I used it about 5 times. Closed it up.

In the meantime:  I went “on the clock” and started work on some of the portfolio items.

Phase 2:

Everyone continued to tell me how wonderful Evernote was and that it deserved a second chance.  Yeah, right.  I procrastinated but in an idle moment I loaded some additional documents into my notebooks. I  tagged them but it just seemed like so much fussiness.  I did, however, see some advantages.  I liked the tagging but the notebooks seemed to get in the way.  I attended a seminar where Lisa Louise Cooke was the speaker (Autumn Seminar in Sumner) She raved about Evernote for just about everything. I talked to my friend and fellow attendee, Dawn, who is also a rabid Evernote fan and she suggested that I abandon the notebooks and just use tags. She has over 6000 notes and just a few notebooks.

Revelation! Freedom!  Freedom from notebooks!

In the meantime:  I started the KDP and noticed I was having trouble keeping track of all the new information I was gathering.

Phase 3:

Everyone continued to tell me how wonderful Evernote is and so I give it a third chance. (My old boyfriends didn’t get this many opportunities!)

I am now using Evernote for the collection of all the odd bits of information related to the KDP. It is terrific. I record all the items I need to collect when I go to SLC in January.  I store emails I send to historical societies asking for information.  I have a professional genealogist helping me in Germany and her findings are posted there.  It is a godsend for the writing of any project where there are disparate bits of information. And a KDP certainly qualifies!

In the meantime: I have listened to Judy Russell’s BCG webinar on writing the KDP and am inspired to work on it but have not made much progress.  But I know, deep in my heart, that I have not lost any little bit of information because Evernote is keeping it safe for me.

Thanks Dawn for encouraging me to keep trying.  I get it!  I get it now.

Happy Hunting!

Jill

What I have done since the last posting: attended the Sumner WA Autumn conference with Lisa Louise Cooke  as primary speaker (Way to go, Lisa)!  Finished up a client report (They are a lot of fun.); attended an APG-Puget Sound meeting (lots of terrific speakers are coming to Washington in 2015–it will be a banner year.) I worked on my KDP and made some decisions based on Judy’s seminar.  Thanks, Judy.  (it is not yet posted on the BCG website.)

The cute elephant and great logo is a licensed trademark of Evernote.

8 comments on “My Escapades with the Elephant!

  1. Zola says:

    I guess I’ll have to keep trying. Evernote and I are better friends than a few months ago, but I’m still not as sold as you are.

  2. Grace Keir says:

    Jill, you lost me. What is KDP?
    GK

  3. Dana says:

    I was going to ask about KDP, too. 🙂

    I’m just starting to dabble with Evernote & so far not ‘getting it.’ I will keep at it!

  4. Glad to learn that I gave you a little push. Evernote is what you make of it. I have been using it since 2009 when I wanted a better tool than delicio.us. For me, it is a place to organize all the random bits, especially from online genealogy searches. I use it for work as well. Install it on your laptop, smart phone and tablet to have your notes with you wherever you are.

  5. itsjustjenna says:

    I have tried Evernote but love Scrivener. I wish that Scrivener was available across all of my devices though. Are there any other major differences?

    • Jill Morelli says:

      Jenna, I have only tried Scrivener a little bit. I thought it would really work for me as I am graphically inclned, but it didn’t. In the end, I decided not to use it. I think Scrivener works for some people and doesn’t work for others. I also think it works for some project types and doesn’t work as well for others. But, if it works for you–that’s great. Have a good weekend. Jill

Leave a Reply

