How I Spent My Winter Vacation!

view out condoI sit here at the table with my computer, small notepad, my tea and phone within reach.  On my left is the view shown.  Not bad!  I just had one of my most productive genealogical weeks.  The family doesn’t understand that not skiing is not a hardship for me.

A typical day:

  • 6:00 am      get up and get 30 min. of work done
  • 7:00 am     first family member walks out of bedroom with ski stuff on
  • 7:30 am     second member walks out of bedroom with ski stuff on
  • 8:00 am     make and eat breakfast
  • 9:00 am     the members of family are out the door to ski for the day
  • 9:01 am      I sit down and start work
  • 12:30 pm   Eat lunch (usually left overs)
  • 12:45 pm   back at work
  • 5:30 pm    Family returns; I continue to work while they go to hot tub, take showers etc.
  • 6:30 pm    either go out to eat or eat leftovers from the enormous portions we are served at previous dining out experiences
  • 7:30 pm    back from the restaurant or completed dinner
  • 8:00 pm   play cards with daughter until….
  • 9:30 pm    daughter goes to bed
  • 9:31 pm     I start work again
  • 11:00 pm   I head off to bed.

Here is what I got done (of course, nothing is really done.” My definition of “done” is 98%”):

  1. Finished APG-PMC (Association of Professional Genealogists-Professional Management Conference held in 2.5 weeks.) poster paper (I had been working on this for over a month.  It’s 11 pages long.)
  2. Finished PMC poster (This took three days, 50% time.)
  3. Finished the PMC “takeaway” (This took less time than I thought by 50%)
  4. Submitted six presentations to the Northwest Genealogical Conference 2015. (These had been partially put together.)
  5. Crafted the presentation: “An Overview of  Scandinavian Research (this took 3 days solid to do.)
  6. Put together the syllabus for “An Overview of Scandinavian Research”
  7. Crafted the first draft of “Conducting a House History: Wherever You Live”
  8. Crated the first draft of “The Push & the Pull: Decision-Making of the 19th Century Emigrant”
  9. Reviewed the program for the NGS Program for 2015.  There does not seem to be a blogger program.
  10. Arranged to have the heat fixed in the condo—one zone wasn’t working so I had to deal with the maintenance people.

All the while, I am checking out the beautiful view to my left –dawn to dark and drinking my favorite tea with the sun warming me.  Of course, I had a great time with the family on Christmas (they went skiing so I worked Christmas as well.) We leave tomorrow at oh-dark-thirty, so the productivity will drop but I had a terrific week.

I am looking forward to great 2015.  Hubby and I will celebrate the inauguration of the new year with friends on Capital Hill.  I hope you will be celebrating with friends–real or virtual.

Thank you so much for following this blog.  I hope there have been some “nuggets” you can use or in some way you are entertained.  Wishing you the best of the new year.

Happy Hunting!

Jill

What I did since the last post:  See the above.  I completed the Jens Dahle postings a month ago and put them on a timer.  More to come in the next few days.

5 comments on “How I Spent My Winter Vacation!

  1. Kathryn Andre says:

    Jill, that is amazing….I want to be you.  Kathryn B. Andre kbandre@yahoo.com 2221 Hamilton Drive Ames, Iowa 50014 515-357-5186 From: Genealogy Certification: My Personal Journal To: kbandre@yahoo.com Sent: Saturday, December 27, 2014 11:09 AM Subject: [New post] How I Spent My Winter Vacation! #yiv3486040813 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3486040813 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3486040813 a.yiv3486040813primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3486040813 a.yiv3486040813primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3486040813 a.yiv3486040813primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3486040813 a.yiv3486040813primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3486040813 WordPress.com | Jill Morelli posted: “I sit here at the table with my computer, small notepad, my tea and phone within reach.  On my left is the view shown.  Not bad!  I just had one of my most productive genealogical weeks.  The family doesn’t understand that not skiing is not a hardship for” | |

  2. Mary Swenson says:

    There are times I also want to be you! 🙂
    I totally ‘get’ the schedule and your comments about not skiing, but doing what speaks to you instead, as you well know!
    May you have a 2015 as wonderful as you deserve!

  3. Jill, I love reading your posts re: certification process. I hope to start “on the clock” after my term as DAR Registrar ends…we processed 21 applications this fall! Keep up the great blog! Pat Kinzie, OL8, ProGen 19

    • Jill Morelli says:

      Pat, Thanks for the encouragement and let me encourage you as well. It took me a bit to “ramp up” to working on the portfolio so about 2 months before your term is up you might consider going on the clock. But, it is always a personal decision. 21 applications is a lot! I am impressed. thanks for you encouragement. I hope my blogs have been helpful. Happy new year.
      Jill

Leave a Reply

