Official Blogger for the NGS 2015 Conference

As you can see by the new logo on the right hand sidebar that I received notice that I was accepted as an Official Blogger of the National Genealogy Society (NGS) conference to be held the 13th- 16th of May in St. Charles, Missouri.  I was excited to be named for the third year in a row to this role.

The role comes with some benefits and some responsibilities.

  • I get to register at the press table and I get a ribbon.
  • I can sit at the press table with free wi-fi. (to me, this is a big benefit!)
  • I can compete for some monetary prizes if I do a really good job of blogging about the conference.
  • I get to post a cool logo on my blog site! (More importantly, I even figured out HOW to post the cool logo on my web site–not always a given.)

Since prizes are not my motivation, I will probably not be a contender for the money.  There is no other remuneration.

My other responsibilities are to blog before, during and after the conference so there were be a few postings about the conference. I will start each one with NGS, so if you are not interested, you know where the delete key is on your keyboard.  I like to blog during the conference but sometimes I get so engrossed in what I am doing that I cannot extricate myself from the intensity of the conference–which is, to me, a good thing!  As a consequence, my postings during a genealogical event are usually sporadic and short.

I have already registered for the conference and signed up for the German pre-course with Warren Bittner, an expert in German work.  I have the hotel room and I am sharing it with Karen…we found we were compatible at PMC in January (the Association of Professional Genealogists’s management conference prior to SLIG.) Neither one of us snores loud enough to wake up the other! 🙂

If you are thinking of attending, sign up now as the early bird registration cut-off date is 31 March and is rapidly approaching.  Hotel rooms are mostly gone but you might find that Vacation Rentals By Owner (VRBO) and AirBNB have some interesting options for you–those are the groups I use when I forget to make reservations and everything is totally booked. (last time that happened: daughter graduated from college along with 4 other major universities in Boston and the cheapest room available was $439/night!)

Happy Hunting!

Jill

What I have done since the last posting: submitted 8 responses for the NGS 2016 Call for Proposals (in Ft. Lauderdale, FL), submitted 8 responses for the Federation of Genealogical Societies 2016 Call for Proposals (in Springfield, Illinois), polished up my three syllabi for the Jefferson County GS all-day seminar in Chimicum WA, strategized with Mary Kathryn Kozy about our joint presentation to the Skagit Valley GS in September. Submitted the APG annual report for the Puget Sound Chapter (I am the Chapter Rep) It was a busy weekend.

 

9 comments on “Official Blogger for the NGS 2015 Conference

  1. Gayla says:

    Congratulations!

  2. After reading this post, I need to lay down for a nap, due to exhaustion-transfer.

  3. Kathryn Andre says:

    what an accomplishment….congratulations!  Kathryn B. Andre

    • Jill Morelli says:

      Thanks, Kathy. I don’t know how big an accomplishment it is. I am not sure they deny anyone but on the other hand–I asked and they agreed. Have a great day.

  4. Michelle Khuon says:

    Looking forward to seeing you at NGS 😉

Leave a Reply

