Jamboree! Day 3

RainierGoing home! but, first….

Sunday was another good day at Jamboree….

Sunday presentations go until mid afternoon and I have found that the last day of a conference is a good one to attend lectures by speakers that I want to hear but haven’t.  I also try to attend classes of ethnic groups or topics of which I know nothing.  Two classes caught my eye  when I reviewed the app– Introduction to Jewish Genealogy and Introduction to Mexican Genealogy.  I know nothing about either but wouldn’t it be fun to know a little more than nothing?

Luckily, I also ambled through the exhibit area before it closed.  I got away without buying any books!  But, not without dropping some money (RootsMagic.)  This was an “amble” worth making.  I stopped at ArkivDigital (Swedish records) and asked the experts about how to access tax records.  The help was terrific; I found what I was looking for, but they are certainly hidden.

I attended “Intro to Jewish Genealogy” and found same genealogical principles apply to resolving the many questions one has for their Jewish genealogy. The presenter did a  good job dispelling the myths about availability of records and particularly about the myth:  “my name was changed at Ellis Island.”

I didn’t fare so well with the intro to Mexican Genealogy.  There were some technical problems and so I slipped out and went to the mapping session.  She did a nice job of presenting an overview of mapping sites but didn’t have a syllabus.  The final session I attended was Michael Lacopo’s on “Incorporating Social History into Your Genealogy.”  He had terrific examples of illustrating how the story is enhanced by finding documents other than the BMD.

This conference friendly with lots of opportunities and locations for socializing, something that the other conferences I have attended, lack.  There also seems to be built-in time to  chat with exhibitors.  While I wouldn’t put that need high on my list of priorities that last two conferences hae been good for me when those conversations could occur.  These opportunities make Jamboree seem very “California Casual.”  I urge you to consider attending next year.

My lecture schedule now has a bit of a gap but work intervenes! 🙂 I am off to Association of University Architects 4.5 day conference in Raleigh NC, followed by a vacation in Boston/Cape Cod with our daughter. (I will sneak in a lecture at the Cape Cod/Falmouth Genealogical Society while there!);  then I am back to Chicago for my last Society of University & College Planning conference as a board member in late July.  I am already looking forward to the Northwest Genealogical Conference (NwGC).  Some of the same folks at Jamboree will be up there–Cyndi Ingle, Linda Harms Ozasaki, Judy Russell, Lisa Alzo, etc. It will be nice to check in with friends from around the state and around the nation.

Happy Hunting!

Jill

What I have done since the last posting:  Talked to Cyndi Ingle about how her ProGen course is going while we waited for a plane at Burbank Airport.  Said good-bye to some new friends and old including, Mike, Judy, Beverly, Paula, Janet, Emily and Lisa.

3 comments on “Jamboree! Day 3

  1. Kathryn Andre says:

    Thanks again for sending me these posts!  Kathryn B. Andre

  2. Emily Garber says:

    Wonderful to meet you, Jill! I have been reading and enjoying your blog for some time. Now it’s nice to know I can see a friendly face behind the words. Hope we get to see you at IAJGS 2016 in Seattle.

Leave a Reply

