KDP Writing Weekend #1: 7-9 August 2015

2013 0818 writingOK, I know I need to start writing the KDP (Kinship Determination Project).  There is an extra motivation–I will probably have to return about 13 books about “my family” to the library in the next few months.  If returned, I may have difficulty getting them back and I certainly won’t be able to check them out for weeks/months at a time.

So, I have decided that I will schedule two KDP Writing Weekends.  One will be this coming weekend (schedule below) and another will be over Labor Day weekend.  And, why, you ask, would I pick these two weekends?  Because the Hubby will be out of town and it will be just me and the cat.  Although Ollie sometimes walks across the keyboard, in general he is a pretty good writing companion.

Here is my proposed schedule.  On Monday, I will report in a short post, how I did:

August 7, Friday

6:00 – 8:00 (with 20 minutes out for dinner) I will review my books, my Evernote file, and my emails (pre-Evernote, I emailed myself articles about “the fam.”)

8:00-8:30 break

8:30 to 10:00  I will write.

August 8, Saturday

7:00 -7:30 read paper and eat breakfast

7:30 – 8:30 print business cards and extra speaker flyers for the PS-APG chapter table at the NwGC in a week.

8:30 – 11:30 write

11:30 – 12:00 lunch

12:00 – 3:30 write

3:30 : leave for PS-APG picnic in Sumner and have a good time.  Don’t forget to take business cards and speaker brochures with me to the picnic to give to table coordinator.

Take the rest of the night off

August 9, Sunday

6:00 -6:30 have breakfast

6:30 – 9:15 write

9:15 get ready and go to yoga

12:30 – 3:30 start writing again

3:30 – 5:00 take a “Get Out of the House Break.”  This might be a drive over to Discovery Park and a walk to the lighthouse or it might be just a walk by the water.  We’ll see.

5:00 – 6:00 dinner

6:00 – 9:00 write!

KDP Writing Weekend is complete.  I have no goal for how much I will get done or what parts.  We shall see. Your thoughts, comments and criticisms about the schedule would be most welcomed.

Wish me luck.

Happy Hunting!

Jill

What I have done since the last posting: Had lunch with Luci Baker Johnson about the “Digging Deeper” series.  She has an idea about the third year of the series that involves my helping out. Could be a great season about House Histories.  Was contacted by a Midwest conference that wants me as a speaker in a year.  Looks like it will happen.  Planning a trip to Peru (Fall 2015) and another to Italy (Fall 2016).  Ramping down my work with SGS but volunteered to do desk duty while Janice is giving her “Finding your Slave Owners” talk which I would have attended anyway.

 

8 comments on “KDP Writing Weekend #1: 7-9 August 2015

  1. Luci says:

    Impressive weekend writing plan. I wish you the best on this. I’ll be interested in hearing how you fend.

    • Jill Morelli says:

      “fend” is probably the right word! Implies a fight or altercation in which I am losing! 🙂 I will be wrestling with my demon this weekend. The intensity of the schedule means I won’t get my paragraphs written for you unless I can slip them in on times that are not allocated to writing. But I will get them to you on Monday. Great fun yesterday!

  2. Debra A. Hoffman says:

    I think that you have a reasonable timeframe and hope you are very productive. The sheer joy of completing the portfolio will be like a great weight lifted from you! Keep going, you are at least making progress.

  3. Fuller C Jones says:

    “The Best Laid Plans . . . ” You had better allow more time for that KDP!  I speak from experience. I did as you are planning last year and had to renew— life got in the way.  The KDP “ain’t easy!”

    • Jill Morelli says:

      Of course! I am under no illusions that this will get my KDP written. I had a low bar of expectation–just get started! I have another Writer’s Weekend planned for Labor Day. LD will give me 3.5 days to work on it. That’s good. I suspect by then I will have identified about 20 documents I need to get my hands on. I have already sent for the film I need for some of the records. And, I have already renewed once. I hope to not have to renew again, but no problem if I do. Thanks for the encouragement.

  4. Jill Morelli says:

    KDP WW #1, Friday: I did very well. I kept up with the schedule and even put in a little additional time in reading a book that I had not read before. Found some pertinent historical governance information. They say 90% of the “battle” is just showing up–I am “showing up!”

  5. Jill Morelli says:

    KDP WW #1, Saturday: Wow! Two days out of two! I got my business cards and brochures printed and put in 9 hours of writing, and I put 2 hours in writing
    after I got back from the picnic. I also figured out how to do the Genealogical Summary without getting completely twisted around Microsoft Word. I still am struggling with who my audience is for the KDP and so my “voice” changes. I find I am most comfortable with Curran, Crane and Wray close by my side! I am very excited about Sunday and keeping up the pace.

  6. Jill Morelli says:

    KDP WW #3: Sunday. Whew! Where did the weekend go? Skipped yoga and the walk (watered the plants outside instead) and worked straight thru’ until I lost focus about 8:30 pm. 18 pages later … Composed of the start of the narratives and one of the proofs and a really good start on the genealogical summary complete with citations!
    To do list:
    Ordered some FHL tapes
    Call some county courthouses to get some other records. …I have some gaps with the aunties.
    Write more of the narrative
    Arrange to do the client report.

    Next Writing Weekend–WW 2? Labor Day. Have to plan for it now.

    Jill

Leave a Reply

