SoCA GS webinar: “The ‘Push’ and the ‘Pull’ “

headset and meColleagues,

I want to thank each of you for attending the Southern California Genealogical Society Webinar on migration of our 19th century ancestors.  You had so many questions about regions of the world that I know little about, I was overwhelmed by the questions.  I would like to refer you to a few sources so you have the links. I admit that I have not read nor can I offer any guidance as to the quality of these resources, as generally these sources are addressing regions/countries that are outside my expertise.:

Canadian Homesteading: I found a lot of information to respond to the question about Canadian homesteading, land grants and land purchasing at the Family Search Wiki.  I recommend that you check it out.  I did not find as much in published books or journal articles but that may be because Google and Amazon are US-centric for me.  I recommend that you do some general searches in these two sites.  Also, look at WorldCat.

Speculation in the Midwest and surveying: I recommend this book.

  • Linklater, Andro. Measuring America: How the United States was Shaped by the Greatest Land Sale in History (Plume Publishing, 2003). I loved this book, but I’m from Iowa!

Emigration from Scotland.  There are a lot of books about the Scotch-Irish. I think the person who asked the question will just have to do some digging. I know almost nothing about this but I did find this book about early migration:

  • Dodson, David. Scottish Emigration to Colonial America, 1607-1785 (Athens: University of Georgia Press, 2004).

Emigration from Northern Germany.

  • Walker, Mack. Germany and the Emigration, 1816-1885 (Boston: Harvard University Press, 1964).
  • Brandt, Edward R, et al Germanic Genealogy: A Guide to Worldwide Sources and Migration Patterns (Minneapolis: Minnesota Germanic Genealogy Society, 2007.  This is a very good book that I have in my library.  I recommend that you buy directly from the society and not from Amazon ($$$$): http://www.ggsmn.org/cpage.php?pt=41

Thanks everyone for attending.  I will be giving a Legacy webinar on 20 April and another for Minnesota Genealogical Society in November.  Tune in!

You can also catch my lecture schedule on the Genealogical Speakers Guild website.  Don’t hesitate to contact me if you think that my content might be of interest to your genealogical society. I am also traveling from Seattle to SLC to CO to Tucson, AZ to San Diego to Fresno in 6 weeks starting the 16th of January.  If you are a society located along the route, I am sure we make a deal!  🙂

Happy Hunting!

Jill

 

 

Leave a Reply

