A Silly Thing….

2016 0207 Grand CanyonRandy Seaver has a “Saturday Night Genealogy Fun” theme for his Saturday blog ( click Genea-Musings to visit his blog site). This week he posted a list of “things you might have done” that recently circulated on Facebook and asked us to fill it out.  So, I did. Learn more about me by reading the list of things I have done — or not, and share your own.

Here goes…and my comments are in italics.

( ) Shot a gun
(X) Gone on a blind date
(X) Skipped school (college–to play bridge; it was not possible to skip school in Britt, IA.)
(X) Watched someone die (my husband’s mother)
(X ) Visited Canada (hard not to if you live in Seattle)
(X ) Visited Hawaii
( ) Visited Cuba (on bucket list)
(X ) Visited Europe
(X ) Visited Las Vegas (don’t need to go there again.)
(X ) Visited Central America

(X) Visited Asia
( ) Visited Africa
(X) Visited Florida
(X) Visited Mexico
(X) Seen the Grand Canyon in person (just this month!)
( ) Flown in a helicopter
(X ) Served on a jury
(X ) Been lost (in Dubrovnik–not a good place to be lost in!)
(X ) Traveled to the opposite side of the country
(X ) Visited Washington, DC

(X ) Swam in the Ocean
(X) Cried yourself to sleep
(X ) Played cops and robbers
(X ) Played cowboys and Indians
( ) Recently colored with crayons
( ) Sang karaoke
(X) Sang a solo or duet in church
( ) Paid for a meal with coins only
(X) Made prank phone calls (Is your refrigerator running?)
(X) Laughed until some beverage came out of your nose

(X) Caught a snowflake on your tongue
(X) Had children (actually only one, so I don’t know if I can check this box or not.)
(X ) Had a pet
(X) Been skinny-dipping
(X) Been fishing
(X ) Been boating
(X) Been downhill skiing
(X) Been water skiing
( ) Been camping in a trailer/RV
(X ) Been camping in a tent

( ) Driven a motorcycle (no, but I was a passenger–once)
( ) Been bungee-jumping (ripcord jumping)
(X ) Gone to a drive-in movie
(X ) Done something that could have killed you…
(X ) Done something that you will regret for the rest of your life
( ) Rode an elephant
( ) Rode a camel
(X ) Eaten just cookies or cake or ice cream for dinner
(X) Been on TV
(X) Stolen any traffic signs

(X ) Been in a car accident
(X) Been in the Hospital in past 24 months (I have been in a hospital but not as a patient. I am a literalist so I counted it)
(X) Donated blood
( ) Gotten a (speeding) or any other type of ticket in the past 12 months (I almost did in Yakima a month ago.  The policeman was gracious and let me go.)
(X) Gotten a piercing (pretty tame–my ears)
( ) Gotten a Tattoo
(X) Driven a manual transmission vehicle
( ) Ever owned your dream car
(X ) Been Married
( ) Been divorced

(X) Fell in love
(X) Fell out of love
(X) Paid for a strangers meal
(X) Driven over 100 mph
(X) Been scuba diving
(X) Written a published book/story/poetry
( ) Eaten snails (no, but I have eaten Rocky Mtn. oysters. I  personally think that ought to count.)

I had better get working on the ones without an X.  I admit to having several opportunities this past month for a speeding ticket but the Travel Gods were kind to me.  Any way–it’s silly and fun to fill these out.  If you copy and paste this in your blog or just mentally go through the list, leave a comment–I would like to know a little more about you!

Happy Hunting!

Jill

What I have done since the last post:  My 6+ week journey took me over 4638 miles and to 8 states (not counting the flight to and from Savannah, GA). I averaged 47.38 mpg in my Prius. I wrote my proof argument and got a good draft of my KDP. I visited family and friends. I submitted my NGS syllabi on time and have six people signed up for my Beginning Swedish Genealogy class starting the end of this month. Now, I have a few days where I can work on some of the other things I need to get done before the end of this frantic month, including two presentations for academic conferences here in Seattle.

5 comments on “A Silly Thing….

  1. Grace Keir says:

    Love the picture of you. And the list of things you’ve done was a great read. GK

  2. Barbara Mattoon says:

    Our list is startlingly similar, except that I have ridden a camel. It had been on my bucket list forever. I’ll see you in May at NGS and in June (?) at SKCGS.

    • Jill Morelli says:

      so, Barbara, we had just enough “rogue” in us to check off some of the more risky adventures. and, yes, our paths may cross at NGS. I am not sure what SKCGS is … are you thinking of the Northwest Genealogy Conference? It’s in August and I won’t be in attendance.

  3. SkipAZ says:

    I’m with you on the Rocky Mt. oysters!

Leave a Reply

