NGS 2016: What you missed!

2016 0506 NGS meIt has been a great conference in Ft. Lauderdale. And I regret that you couldn’t join us and experience the quality of presentations of the conference. Some highlights for me include:

I love the meeting up old friends I haven’t seen for awhile and making some new ones along the way. this can be the best part of attending (the second) conference!

I also like attending the speical events such as Board for Certification of Genealogists (BCG) and the Association of Professional Genealogists (APG) lunch. Tonight I am going to the banquet. The best reason for going to these is “meeting up with old friends!”  It is always nice to meet new individuals who are on the clock–sometimes they seem so naive but maybe I am calloused. (Calloused is not good.)

they run about 10 sessions at anyone time so it is difficult at times to pick which one to go to at any given time. Some sessions I attended stand out:

  • “When Worlds Collide: Resolving Conflicts in Genealogical Records (Judy Russell): One of my big take-aways is that we as educated genealogist must make the decision as to whether the conflict is a true conflict or whether the evidence we have is just a variation of another, e.g. name of Kate/Katherine, Catherine really are all variation of the same name. She then focused on the Genealogy Standard no. 47 which offers us guidance to define the type of conflict we have and how to resolve.
  • Elizabeth Shown Mills had two that were outstanding:
    • “Dissection & Analysis of Research Problems”: a review of her research techniques. She gave me several new ideas for how to organize my research, while writing while you research. I was pleased that several of the techniques she illustrated, I actually used regularly.  (For those of you who do not know Elisabeth Shown Mills–she is a leader of the field of genealogy in methodology and education.)
    • “Reasonably Exhaustive Research: The First Criteria for Genealogical Proof ” This was an amazing study, representing 1000 hours of research : Elizabeth used an amazing case study to illustrate seven levels of research. This one proof represented 1000 hours and generated a 700 page research report.
  • “Ticks, Chiggers and Snakes: Civil War Diaries, Letters and Military Records in Southern Archives and Libraries” (Sara Scribner). Manuscripts are often difficult to find. Sara showed us some wonderful repositories and search techniques.
  • “Italian Genealogy Research in Italy and From Home.” Mary Tedesco served as our guide on a whirlwind tour of Italy, Italian records and how to research in Italy.  Fun! Especially since her maternal side is from Toscana, just like Pat’s!
  • Notice the picture (My presentation is 3rd one down!)  I presented my “On Death and Dying: Changes in  Medical Care in the 19th Century:” In spite of tough competition, I had 40 people in the presentation. I was thrilled. Margaret F. and Janice L. came also. It’s always nice to have friends in the audience.  The presentation went far better than I expected going into the session.  There was a technical difficulty throughout the presentations with the PPT; luckily, I was audio taped only and not video taped.  The tech person looked at it twice.  I should have done what I did when I had this problem before, i.e. join the wifi, which terminated the requests.

I also enjoyed the exhibit hall. One activity I participated in which in the past I had not …I attended a presentation by My Heritage on Danish research.  My Heritage is working very hard to bring the Danish records on line including census records. This will be a terrific addition for the Danish community as Danish records are particularly difficulty to search even when using the index.  I enjoyed these mini-sessions.  Ancestry, Family Search and Lisa Louis Cooke conducted similar mini classes.

Happy Hunting!

Jill

What I have done since the last posting: attended the conference and worked on my presentations. And, had a lot of fun!

7 comments on “NGS 2016: What you missed!

  1. Debra Hoffman says:

    Congratulations on your presentation! Wish I was there to catch up with you!

  2. What I have done since your last posting: enjoyed the weather in Seattle, read some books and goofed off.

  3. Barbara Mattoon says:

    Elizabeth Shown Mills presentation at the New York luncheon was also enjoyable. “The more things change, the more they stay the same”. I saw you on the plane, but not since.

  4. I’m glad you are having a good time. I am enjoying reading about it and wish I was there.
    Trish

Leave a Reply

