SCGS Jamboree 2016!

palm trees[There was a glitch and I am reposting this.  Sorry if you received it 2x.]

I am just coming off the excitement of NGS in sunny Florida and I get to go to sunny CA!  Jamboree 2016, sponsored by the Southern CA Genealogical Society, is a major regional conference held in Burbank CA. I am looking forward to my favorite Seattle speakers–Janice Lovelace and Mary Roddy. But, who can resist Kenyatta Barry or David McDonald or David Rencher or Jay Fonkert or Annette Burke Lyttle or…..well you get the idea. How fun is this?

I will be giving two of my favorite presentations…”Fire Insurance Maps” and “Blogging your Family History.” They are very different presentations but then I have a more eclectic package of presentations than many.

FIM is a “tried and true” presentation. I love this presentation as it combines my architect’s love of 2 dimensional representation (the map) of a 3 dimensional reality (real life!) and is a wonderful resource for answering late 19th c. and early 20th c. genealogical questions.

“Blogging Your Family History” is a new presentation, but one that I feel comfortable in presenting since I have been blogging on a variety of topics including my family on and off for almost 4 years now.  It is so easy to do and makes the daunting task of writing seem very manageable.  There are some great examples out there as well….people who are already blogging their family history and doing a very good job of it.  I will cover how you can set up a blog in (WP says 3 steps), I say,  6 steps.  It should be fun.

I just signed up for the live streaming of the DNA Day lectures.  $99 for 6 lectures. Seemed like a deal to me. A “deep dive” into DNA  is on my to do list right after submission of my portfolio.  I will be traveling the day the lectures are given live, but will listen to them after the fact.

I am anxiously awaiting the app for the conference.  I saw it in beta test last week and fooled with it a bit. It was supposed to be in the App Store today but I don’t see it yet . Maybe by the time I post this it will be!

Happy Hunting!

Jill

What I have done since the last post: I am getting ready to run copies of all parts of my portfolio!  This is exciting. It’s the first time I will see all parts together.  On a scale of “the good, the bad and the ugly” I am out of the “ugly” phase and into the “bad” phase.  It’s coming.  Just when I feel positive–I get a shot of reality and go–whoops, gotta do that! I attended a session today on the Swenson Swedish Immigration Research Center presented by a former librarian who gave us lots of inside tips.  It was very interesting.  I will be visiting this summer.

 

Leave a Reply

