SCGS Jamboree! Last Day

Jam roundtableI was filling out the evaluation of the conference and was struck how difficult it was to outline the TWO things I liked best about the conference. So, here are my expanded thoughts and why you ought to go next year.  (And why I will be going.)

Things I like about Jamboree!:

  • Jamboree has a unique “feel.” It is casual, and fun!
  • The volunteers are truly helpful. Example, the program Chair came by before each of my sessions to make sure everything was OK. This was after two tech guys had already instructed me about how to use the microphones and “rules” concerning video taping (Blogging your Family History) or audio taping (Fire Insurance Maps) and two other volunteers and introduced themselves as they would be monitoring the room.
  • There is a good mix of local, regional and national speakers.
  • There is a good mix of beginning, intermediate and advanced sessions.
  • The round tables are an innovative idea (that’s the pic) to learn from experts and get specific help on specific topics. (I went to the tables for Scandinavia, Italy and Japanese.)  I learned the most at the Italy table; but, had the most fun at the Japanese table with Linda Harms Okasaki talking with a daughter of an internment camp detainee and the map her mother (?) drew of the camp housing.  I decided I could chair the Scandinavian table.
  • Blaine Bettinger’s DNA in Annual Review, was superb.  I had no idea how fast things were changing, but was thrilled (cheap thrill, I admit) when a change he explained to us in his review, was followed up the next day by the formal announcement that I received as an email!  Cool.
  • but, the best thing? Is seeing old friends and catching up with their lives, connecting FB friends with real people and making new ones.  I always love that part.  Nothing is warmer than walking into a hotel and seeing three of your friends there and getting (and giving) big hugs around.

This is a good sized conference, with a nice set of options for all levels that doesn’t overwhelm the beginner or first timer.

Happy Hunting!

Jill

What i have done since the last posting: Attended the 2016 SCGS Jamboree! Reviews to follow. You can always tell when I am having a great day or a great conference–I just cannot find the time to blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

