Announcement!

clock-6I am happy to announce that today I received notice from the Board for Certification of Genealogists (BCG) that my portfolio which was submitted in mid-October has been deemed worthy of conferring onto me the title of Certified Genealogist. I am still a bit giddy.  I also realize that I will probably forget to do some critical thing in the “fog” of jubilation. As I am leaving on Sunday for Salt Lake Institute of Genealogy (SLIG), I am vulnerable to forget to pack all I need for their cold weather.  Yikes!

I will not stop this blog because I have reached this goal.  Like all goals, you need to develop the next before you have attained the last.  And, that is certainly true for me.  I will discuss goal assessment in the near future.

I thank all the readers for supporting this blog and my efforts to become certified.  With certification comes not only the pride of attaining a difficult goal, but also the responsibility to model to others the good work of a certified genealogist.

Happy Hunting!

Jill

What I have done since the last blog post: I started bullet journaling because I found myself wasting a lot time and I needed a tool to keep me focused. Except for today– it’s done a good job. I listened to three webinars; attended an APG online discussion, developed my research plans for my trip to Salt Lake City and had lunch with a friend I had lost track of.  It’s been, for me, a good day.

57 comments on “Announcement!

  1. LDC says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!! What an accomplishment! Good for you!!!

  2. Debra Hoffman says:

    That was the best news of the day! Congratulations! I look forward to congratulating you in person at SLIG!

  3. Karen McAndrew says:

    Congratulations! Yea You!!

  4. Sandra Page says:

    Congratulations and I have so enjoyed following you along to this point. I look forward to the next theme of the blog.

  5. emptybranches says:

    Jill, Congratulations! That is fabulous news. Have a terrific time at SLIG. I hope you’re going to continue your blog, albeit with a new theme.

    • Jill Morelli says:

      Give up the blog? Not possible. The blog was the place where I re-learned to write. I hadn’t written extensively before the blog and so it gave me a “practice field”–critical for the development of my style which then could be translated into my writing of other articles, including the portfolio. The readers were subjected to my ramblings and my elemental efforts to learn to write. Thanks. Jill

  6. Jill—Congratulations from frigid Belgium.

  7. Lesley K. Cafarelli says:

    Congratulations, Jill! I’m glad you’ll be continuing this blog.

  8. Stacy Hoover says:

    Congratulations, Jill! I think there will be several hundred people wanting to celebrate along with you in SLC!

  9. cottew1 says:

    Wonderful! Marvelous! Delightful news on an otherwise dreary weekend. I am so excited for you, Jill!

  10. Mary O'Brien Vidlak, CG says:

    Congratulations! Enjoy walking on air for a few months!

  11. Rachelle says:

    Yahoo! What a fabulous achievement! I am very happy that all your hard work has paid off.

    • Jill Morelli says:

      Thanks, Rachelle. Hope the new house is getting settled into. (we still miss you.) Jill PS did you know that the orchid your DAR chapter gave me 4 (?!) years ago is still blooming. I have two new shoots coming out right now. It will be glorious in the spring.

  12. Congratulations, Jill! Well deserved. See you in SLC @SLIG.

  13. Maeaunna Miller says:

    Congratulations on your certification! See you at SLIG.

  14. Gumball says:

    Congratulations! Now, what are your rates for research? lol

  15. Congratulations. I have really enjoyed reading about your journey.

  16. Terri says:

    Congratulations to you! Such a wonderful achievement!!!!

  17. Lisa says:

    Congratulations!! I first heard of your blog only a couple months ago and enjoyed following you during your journey. Please continue to share any guidance or tips you feel would benefit those of us still on our certification journey.

    • Jill Morelli says:

      Oh, I will, Lisa. I think the postings in the near future will be interesting as I am leading a discussion group on becoming certified (the process and decision-making) and also I am coordinator of a ProGen group. Both will provide richness to the blogs as I bring to a wider audience some of the thoughts (and angst) of those interested in becoming certified. Thanks for joining the community. Jill

  18. Karen nowlin says:

    That is awesome! Congratulations and thank you for sharing your journey with us!

  19. Congratulations! That is an awesome achievement and well deserved!

  20. Shan Wright says:

    Congratulations!!! I’m proud of you! I know the hard work it took to accomplish this goal! And your rates are…..????? LOL!

  21. Jade says:

    Congratulations, Jill. I have particularly appreciated your sharing learning experiences, and hope for more such in your blog.

  22. Julie Smith-Morrow says:

    Jill, Wow, I am impressed! Congratulations!

    Julie A. Smith-Morrow, Ph.D. 513.237.3302 julie.smithmorrow@gmail.com

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  23. Jane says:

    Congratulations, Jill! Way to go!

  24. Patricia Kinzie says:

    Congratulations! Thanks for sharing your journey..see you at SLIG

  25. Stephanie Wells says:

    Congratulations, Jill Morelli, CG! I am so happy for you! I wish I were going to be at SLIG to celebrate with you. Hope to see you at Jamboree!

    • Jill Morelli says:

      Of course, I missed you not being there but it was great fun this year. I also got to talk more with Stephanie Evans–I remembered when I confused you for her! I won’t confuse you again. 🙂 Hugs!

  26. CaryB says:

    You did it! So happy for you and your journey. Thank you for generously sharing it with us.

  27. Emily Garber says:

    Congratulations, Jill! Terrific news. If I run into you at SLIG (I am in TW Jones class), I will give you a high five in person.

Leave a Reply

