Part 4: When there is no Drama….Crafting Citations

DNA EamesWe continue our look at using DNA to support our “documentary tree” by making sure our citations are informative and to standards.

Disclaimer: This is only an example of how I would incorporate the evidence offered by DNA if I had to do my portfolio over. I have no idea if my “solution” would be acceptable or not. Guidance on the topic is slim, but I am using the website to guide my DNA documentation, because it is all I have at the time of writing. Also, this field is changing so rapidly that this post will be “old news” in a very short period of time, but may still provide the future reader with a perspective and help them formulate questions they might not have thought of.

Here is a list of the parts and the links to the previous posts:

Elizabeth Shown Mills in her “QuickSheet: Citing Genetic Sources for History Research, Evidnece Style” states that “when citing results posted online, you use a basic website citation.”[1]

If I was citing the whole Ancestry DNA results page for me. The first reference note might look like this:

“DNA Results Summary: Jill Morelli,” database report, Ancestry(http://www.ancestry.com/dna: accessed 31 October 2018); a non-public online database.

If I was citing the DNA Circle:

“Jan Middents Cornelius Bode DNA Circle,” AncestryDNA(http://www.ancestry.com/dna: accessed 30 October 2018), non-public circle for Jill Morelli, showing Bode1 as a “good confidence” match, and Jan Middents Cornelius Bode as most recent common ancestor . Jill Morelli’s tree provides sound evidence of each assertion. Bode1 provides no documentation: all his lines and assertions need to be verified.

If I was citing the match itself:

“AncestryDNA Results for Jill Morelli,” database report, AncestryDNA(http://www.ancestry.com/dna: accessed 30 October 2018), predicting 4th to 6th cousin genetic match with user “Bode1.” “Bode1” identifies his great great great grandfather as John Middents Cornelius Bode ; no kinship to Bode1 or Jan has been proven.

The reference note is clear that there is nothing proven about this relationship yet.

Next: Part 5: Analysis, and correlation of the match.

[1]Elizabeth Shown Mills, “QuickSheet: Citing Genetic Sources for History Research, Evidence Style,” (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2015) unpaginated, p. 2.

5 comments on “Part 4: When there is no Drama….Crafting Citations

  1. Cindy Barber says:

    Why is the additional information about the entry included in the citation? I see this more and more in genealogy, but not in other areas. Why not include this information in the actual article?

  2. Anne Young says:

    I think citing a match should include some details of the match, that is centimorgans and segments shared. I find the citations suggested at https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Help:DNA_Confirmation helpful as templates for the details provided by the different testing companies.

Leave a comment